31st March 2011

Posted: March 31, 2011 by alansmurf in Uncategorized

Another month over ..

Ladies and gents feedback is appreciated …we have increased the tempo at the training sessions to what I feel is a good level pushing everyone to an acceptable level each evening on the mat ..

Tonight was a judo ground work night which although I was slightly late I thouroughly enjoyed.. even Gary’s Smurf like headbutt during randori ..

John Sensei was most impressed with everyones effort and attitude whic is always a good thing ..seeing him smile ..

April will continue in the same vein of cardio / atemi warm ups Ne waza and syllabus …

As ever thanks to all of you for training with me

Smurf

Comments
  1. James Pipe says:

    Oh boy did we sweat tonight! Very enjoyable session working through five ground holds. As Sensei mentioned, I can now see options starting to become available during randori now we have a groundwork base to build upon. A great idea to commit a hour each Thursday to this as I know a number of us enjoy it… We spent two hours covering these holds and easily could have spent more time on it… The session went very fast tonight. A true John Sensei Masterclass.

    Its also been good to up the tempo… I know my level of fitness has vastly improved since I started. Including line ups where we change partners for throws has really brought out some common faults in my techniques, so I also really like this idea.

    I’m bringing the camera on Monday boys and girls, so make sure those gi’s are clean!

    James

  2. James Pipe says:

    Did nobody tell the blog that the clocks went forward??? 😉

    • Bloody silly blog!

      Good fun last night, I even got a sneaky head butt into my randori last night. Although it wasn’t really a headbutt, my opponent failed to remove his head from my own heads natural trajectory and as a result we collided. No hard feelings though, eh?

      Yep well up for an hour of that each Thursday!

  3. alansmurf says:

    Sneaky my arse …

    blatant abuse of the rules …..but there are no rules in jujitsu ….

    nice move Gary !!!!!!

    Smurf

  4. Martin says:

    Agree, a very nice session with very good, systematic approach and guidance.
    I have enjoyed it, even when it took 2 hours, it’s only good as we’ve learned it properly I believe…

    PS: be careful now about, what you write here as Sensei John is on the web now, as he told us 🙂

    looking forward to seeing you on Monday…

Leave a Reply

